Complicated Question Loaned Money Secured by deed of trust......thanks!

I loaned 66k secured by a 3rd deed of trust to a friend, there are other liens, abstracts etc on the property totalling 1.6 million, including 500k to the irs, the property is worth 2.5 million. I am a real estate agent and the owner wont let me sell the house unless I give him more money secured by the property ie 300k to get the listing.? If everything went well I would make 100k but the risk is losing 300+k? He cant pay me back by our agreed upon date for 66k what do I do?? If I foreclose I run the risk of the senior trust deed foreclosing and wiping me out correct??? If i do nothing my money will just sit there…a little worried…Thanks

Hi Dara,?

Sorry to be the bearer of less than positive news … but you are indeed in a vulnerable position. If **any lender that’s senior to you, opts to foreclose, your position (your loan - secured by deed of trust) is **wiped out. If you’re not being paid on the loan you made ($66K), you can contract with a trustee and may be able to foreclose first. And if no 3rd party investor opts to bid at auction, the home will become ‘lender-owned’ ( you become the new owner) albeit in order to get clear title you would need to pay-off any/all ‘senior’ (by recording date - first in time is first in line) liens/loans/judgments or negotiate repayment payment terms. But you had better be prepared to promptly payoff the senior debt post trustee sale, or as you surmised, you could be the subject of a subsequent foreclosure action.

I would be VERY reluctant to ‘throw good $ after bad’ by making a new $300K loan to the current homeowner. I have seen many instances where well-intentioned people have made junior position loans to distressed homeowners (secured by DOT), only to see these people get wiped out following a foreclosure by a senior lender.?