Who pays past HOA dues in an REO?

A buyer is purchasing a bank owned home. No lien was ever filed for the back delinquency. HOA is saying new owner is responsible, all the laws we’ve read say no. HOA would have to pursue the previous owner. The buyer is calling an attorney. ?Looking for experiences with this matter. Thanks.

Hi Catherine,
?
I’m a Realtor and I?list and sell REO properties in Southern California, and to my knowlege you are correct, the seller is responsible to pay the back HOA dues, and if they failed to, the new owner is NOT responsible.? The HOA has legal recourse to go after the prior owner for any dues assessments that occurred when that person/persons owned the property.? NOTE HOWEVER, it all depends on what the purchase contract says.? The standard purchase agreement says seller is responsible to pay the HOA dues current at the time of closing (as well as any delinquent property taxes or other liens) and that title will pass free and clear to the buyer.
?
I am very confused how this could happen.? If the buyer received a title insurance policy at the time of the purchase, which they would?HAVE TO if the purchase?was financed, then the title insurance company would not have let the sale close without the?delinquent HOA dues (including late fees, etc.) being paid off in full at the time of the closing.
?
If the buyer looks through their escrow documents they should most likely have a title insurance policy, and by contacting that company the buyer should be able to find out what the heck happened.
?