Bought 1st home at Auction.com!! How Soon can I start Cleaning It up.

Hi,

Please I am a newbie and would like some advice here. I was so excited to puchase my 1st home at auction. I am now ready to clean it and get ready to rent it out. It is empty has been for over 10 months. (Ive spoken to the neighbor.) I was wondering how soon I can get over there and start cleaning it and changing the locks.

Auction. com says I have to wait for the deed to arrive, but that is the pat answer, they said to be on the safe side to wait. What should I do? The house has been vacant that long and the outside has weeds that are 5’ tall all around it! we are worried about fines and or fire! I know its lasted this long whats another 10 days, but Its my $$ on the line now.

So heres the question?? Can we go over there and clean up the yard at least?? (I’m not worried about putting out cash as we do the Yard work ourselves) Or should we just wait it out and hope for the best… Who is responsible for it if it does get damaged before the deed gets to us?

I am hoping for some great advice from some seasoned investors here that possibly have dealt with this company before.

Thank you so much in advance…

T. Perry

Auction.com’s advice to wait for the trustee’s deed upon sale (TDUS) before doing anything (entering, clean up, etc) is the conservative play … But not always the right play.

If the property is unoccupied (no tenants and no prior owners around attempting to claim they’re still in possession) then you can go in, change the locks, and do as you please. It’s your property. As long as the TDUS is recorded within 15 days from the trustee sale, the sale is perfected as of 8:00 a.m. on the date of the auction (trustee sale).