Financing for flip properties

I’m preparing to get my feet wet and buy my first property at auction. I’m not a pro, work alone, and I’ve been doing a ton of research, watching and learning, tracking sales, and watching properties that went across the auction reappear on MLS.

So far I’ve been able to answer most of my own questions (thanks Sean for the forums and great site!). I’ve got a question about financing, so here goes:

I know that at auction you pay with cash or cashier’s checks, that’s not what I’m asking. Once the property is yours and you go list it on MLS, say within a month, I’ve heard of lenders refusing to write loans for buyers even if it appraises right, because they see the huge difference between the flip price and the sale price. My friend who is a mortgage broker also said that FHA or Fannie/Freddie have specific requirements of up to 6 months before they will write a loan on an auction property. He said the same applies for a property that I bought cash, and now want to keep (to live in or rent) but refinance myself so I can get the cash out and buy my next property.

So… I see the pros buying multiple properties a day. Are they buying properties cheap enough where their potential buyers (after the flip) are able to buy cash from them? There’s got to be something I’m missing.

The FHA rule is 90 day. Most “flippers” simply avoid FHA offers. Some even add something to the confidential remarks in the MLS to state that FHA offers will not be considered. You’ll occasionally run into this with other lenders as well, but it is primarily an FHA issue. With some of these non-FHA lenders you can submit documentation regarding the condition of the property at purchase, the fact you paid cash for it, that you bought it without title insurance, repairs you made, etc. and they will waive the requirement. The main thing the underwriter wants is something to cover their butt should the loan go bad down the road.